Allamakee County

Allamakee County

2023 Allamakee Co Hazard Mitigation Plan

The Allamakee County Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan is created for the purpose of reducing or eliminating long-term risk to people and property from hazards.  The seven participating jurisdictions included in this plan are:

  • City of Harpers Ferry
  • City of Lansing
  • City of New Albin
  • City of Postville
  • City of Waterville
  • City of Waukon
  • Unincorporated Areas of Allamakee County


In addition, Allamakee Community School District, Eastern Allamakee Community School District, and Postville Community School District are covered in the plan.

General Plan Information

Hazard Mitigation Planning Committee (HMPC) – Meetings & Materials

2018 Allamakee Co Hazard Mitigation Plan

2018 Hazard Mitigation Plan – Community Profiles

2018 Mitigation Actions by Jurisdiction

Plan Implementation and Maintenance

News Headlines

The UERPC October 2022 Newsletter is Here!

Posted: Mon, October 24, 2022

The UERPC October 2022 Newsletter is here! 

Highlights include:

  • UERPC Celebrates 50 Years!
  • IEDA Awards $3.3 Million to Nine Communities for Water Infrastructure Projects
  • Technical Assistance Funds for UERPC Region
  • Herocrats Spotlight:  April Bril Shines Light on the Value of Walking and Biking
  • UERPC Walks!
  • UERPC Notices
  • UERPC October Work Anniversaries
  • Northeast Iowa STEM Festival is October 27th
  • SSI Recipients Eligible for Discounted Internet Service
  • Job-related Resources
  • Iowa Safe Routes Coordinators Meet-up in Riceville
  • October 5-2-1-0 Feature

Want to view the newsletter? Click here: 

Want to receive our newsletter in your inbox? Sign up here: 

... [ Read More ]

The September 2022 Newsletter is Here!

Posted: Mon, September 19, 2022

The UERPC September 2022 Newsletter is here! 

Highlights include:

  • YOU'RE INVITED! UERPC's 50th Anniversary Celebration on October 18th!
  • Mark Your Calendars for the Get Charged Up! EV Event! on October 13th!
  • Open House for Fayette County Housing Study on Sept. 22nd in Fayette
  • UERPC Announces Grant Awards for Transportation Projects
  • UERPC Attends Association of Pedestrian and Bicycle Professionals National Conference
  • UERPC Notices
  • Northeast Iowa STEM Festival is October 27th!
  • Funding Available through the Unified Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grant Program
  • Job-related Resources
  • September 5-2-1-0 Feature

Want to view the newsletter? Click here: 

Want to receive our newsletter in your inbox? Sign up here: 

... [ Read More ]

Open house for Fayette County housing study Sept. 22 in Fayette

Posted: Fri, September 9, 2022

UERPC wrapped up a housing study this summer for Fayette County in collaboration with Fayette County Economic Development and Tourism (FCEDT). The goal of this effort was to identify housing needs and gaps to assist local stakeholders in finding solutions to current and future housing challenges.

All Fayette County stakeholders, residents, and community leaders are invited to join UERPC and FCEDT for an open house to learn about the completed study. The open house will be on Thursday, September 22, 2022, from 5pm-7pm at the Fayette Opera House in Fayette, Iowa. Attendees will have the opportunity to review the study and chat with representatives about how the study was conducted and how to best utilize the analysis for efforts to improve and expand housing in Fayette County communities.

... [ Read More ]

UERPC announces grant awards for transportation projects

Posted: Fri, August 19, 2022

Upper Explorerland Regional Planning Commission (UERPC) today announces more than $3.5 million in federal transportation grants for local projects, supporting more than $6 million in total project investments in the region.

UERPC is the designated Regional Planning Affiliation (RPA-1) for the northeast Iowa counties of Allamakee, Clayton, Fayette, Howard, and Winneshiek. Each year, the five-county region receives federal funding for diverse transportation projects that further the goals of RPA-1’s Long-range Transportation Plan. The RPA-1 Transportation Policy Board is responsible for evaluating grant applications and deciding which projects are awarded. Funding is typically awarded four years out (2026 for this round), but some projects received funding for 2023 and 2024 during this year’s application cycle.

The grants can support a wide variety of projects. Some address needed maintenance of the rural secondary road system, such as Fayette County’s pavement overlay project on W42/Juniper Road. Others, like the Main Street/IA-9 Corridor Vision Plan for the City of Lansing, support transportation planning efforts.

Funding also supports non-motorized transportation infrastructure, such as the City of Guttenberg’s Big Springs/Mississippi River Trail Connection; continued development of the Dry Run Trail in Winneshiek County; and an extension of the Turkey River Recreational Corridor trail east of Elgin into Clayton County.

The grants are funded by the Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) Program, and the STBG set-aside for transportation enhancements and alternatives. Continued and increased funding for these programs was enabled by the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA), also referred to as the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, passed by Congress and signed into law last year.

Through these projects, RPA-1 seeks to advance the regional transportation goals set forth in the Long-range Transportation Plan. A complete listing of projects funded through the next four years can be found in the RPA-1 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) document, available at Additional information about UERPC and Regional Planning Affiliation 1, including the region’s Long-range Transportation Plan, “Safe Mobility for Everyone,” can also be found at the link above.

... [ Read More ]
[ View All News ]